Replacing coolant

Discussion in 'Indian Scout' started by WolfT, Oct 8, 2021.

  1. WolfT

    WolfT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I have a new Scout 60 and was wondering if anyone knows if a "vacuum cooling system filler" is necessary to replace the coolant. I'm installing a water temp gauge and need to drain the coolant to install the sender.
    Thanks, Wolf
     
    Alpal likes this.
  2. Baldhead_J

    Baldhead_J Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    10,611
    Likes Received:
    23,711
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Bobby Jesus and Alpal like this.
  3. Alpal

    Alpal Gold Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13,608
    Likes Received:
    27,555
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Location:
    Burtland (New Zealand)
    Stop dropping me in it Baldhead!!!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:,.........But yeah:cool::cool:,..... @WolfT ,.....I could send you the pages out of my workshop manual if you like,......
    Alpal
     
    Bobby Jesus, WolfT and Baldhead_J like this.
  4. WolfT

    WolfT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Thanks for the offer, but I have the Service manual. And I gather that it's best to use the vacuum tool. So I'll be investing in one soon.
     
    Bobby Jesus likes this.
  5. Rodd

    Rodd Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    3,398
    Trophy Points:
    1,193
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I emptied the coolant on my 2016 Scout when working on a stator cable leak and it is a real PITA to refill because the top radiator pipe runs uphill from the filler/pressure cap under the tank. The airlock is the problem and even though I got it done eventually I will definitely be using a vacuum pump if I ever do it again.
     
    #5 Rodd, Oct 9, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2021
    Baldhead_J and Bobby Jesus like this.
  6. Alpal

    Alpal Gold Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13,608
    Likes Received:
    27,555
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Location:
    Burtland (New Zealand)
    Question?: Don't you have an engine temp readout on the new Scout 60? Right after Engine RPM it should show you engine temp,.......
    Alpal
     
    JayFL459 and SixShooter like this.
  7. JayFL459

    JayFL459 Silver Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3,909
    Likes Received:
    9,545
    Trophy Points:
    3,193
    Location:
    Lake City, FL

    My First Run Scout had a Temp Gauge would think the later Models would do so as well , although have heard of vehicles 2 or 4 wheels that drop critical things like that to save a buck ..
     
    Alpal likes this.
  8. Alpal

    Alpal Gold Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13,608
    Likes Received:
    27,555
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Location:
    Burtland (New Zealand)
    So, Ok, 2020 and 2021 Scout 60 owners!,......Tell us,.....Can you toggle through your screen to the Engine temp reading?,.......I'll be surprised if you can't,.....
    Alpal

    PS,......Loved my First Run Scout and I love my second First Run Scout!,.....Even earlier than the first one,......Serial number 135 which surely would put it in the first couple of days manufactured off the line!
     
  9. 4thunder

    4thunder Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    3,417
    Trophy Points:
    1,193
    Location:
    Kansas
    @Alpal

    From the Indian Motorcycle web site. Looks the same as my 2017!!

    upload_2021-10-13_21-26-36.png

    4T
     
    JayFL459 and Alpal like this.
  10. Alpal

    Alpal Gold Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13,608
    Likes Received:
    27,555
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Location:
    Burtland (New Zealand)
    Just what I thought,...so,.... @WolfT ,......How come you're adding a second temp gauge?,.....Curious minds are asking,......
    Alpal
     
    Baldhead_J likes this.
  11. JayFL459

    JayFL459 Silver Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3,909
    Likes Received:
    9,545
    Trophy Points:
    3,193
    Location:
    Lake City, FL
    Just to get back a bit on topic .. Having a Vacuum Pump is a good thing to have for many things it can do.. Especially if it involves AC for your 4 wheel vehicle, or Brake Fluid Change out and Flush for any type Vehicle ..
     
    Rodd and 4thunder like this.

Share This Page