Clutch switch

Discussion in 'Indian Springfield' started by Jeepjk, Apr 8, 2019.

  1. Jeepjk

    Jeepjk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Pittsburgh Pa area
    Went for ride Sunday, pulled into gas station went to leave and Springfield wouldn't start when I pulled the clutch in. Would only start in neutral. Taking it to shop on Thursday. Researching internet I found that there are some issues with a small strip that breaks off the clutch switch. I hope that's all it is and not a major electrical problem.
     
  2. JayFL459

    JayFL459 Silver Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3,129
    Likes Received:
    7,649
    Trophy Points:
    3,193
    Location:
    Lake City, FL
    The Clutch Switch is a pretty wimpy made item .. I have had to replace one ..
     
    car54 likes this.
  3. Dan_Frisbie

    Dan_Frisbie Well-Known Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1,541
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Location:
    Milton, Florida
    They are wimpy. I've replaced two of them.
     
    JayFL459 and car54 like this.
  4. tthunder38

    tthunder38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    604
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Alabaster, Alabama
    Ditto on the replacement......
     
    car54 likes this.
  5. Jeepjk

    Jeepjk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Pittsburgh Pa area
    Wonder if there is a way to bypass it. You think they would get another vendor to build them a stronger one.
     
  6. Dan_Frisbie

    Dan_Frisbie Well-Known Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1,541
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Location:
    Milton, Florida
    You can run just fine without it...
    Disconnect the switch, the 598 DTC will go away and the Cruise Control will work again.
    However, the bike will only start in neutral and the clutch lever will not disengage the Cruise Control.

    I learned this when my switch failed in the middle of a road trip weekend.
    I also came to realize that both times that my switch failed, I had been working with the bars and controls prior. I may have caused both failures, but the switch is pretty frail.
     
    JayFL459 and Alpal like this.
  7. Baldhead_J

    Baldhead_J Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    13,570
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    I've replaced two in my '16. The design changed in the '18s.
     
  8. Alpal

    Alpal Gold Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8,778
    Likes Received:
    20,735
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Location:
    Burtland (New Zealand)
    Sounds to me like you pinched a wire there somewhere Dan,.....
    Alpal
     
  9. Dan_Frisbie

    Dan_Frisbie Well-Known Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1,541
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Location:
    Milton, Florida
    No, both times it was the switch that failed. The arm is pretty delicate.
     
    Alpal and JayFL459 like this.
  10. Alpal

    Alpal Gold Member
    Supporter Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8,778
    Likes Received:
    20,735
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Location:
    Burtland (New Zealand)
    Oh,.......:eek::oops:o_O
     
  11. JayFL459

    JayFL459 Silver Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3,129
    Likes Received:
    7,649
    Trophy Points:
    3,193
    Location:
    Lake City, FL
    Not a very good picture but is part # 11 very flimsy .. I think busted mine just pulling the clutch cable to lube it and may have slightly bumped it ..


    clutchswitch.png
     
    Alpal likes this.
  12. Jeepjk

    Jeepjk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Pittsburgh Pa area
    Switch replaced. Im good to go. Mechanic said initial design was poor. Newer version much better.




    i
     
    JayFL459, Baldhead_J and Dan_Frisbie like this.
  13. Baldhead_J

    Baldhead_J Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    13,570
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    TRUTH
     
    JayFL459 likes this.
  14. Rumrunner

    Rumrunner New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA - Oralndo Florida area
    Is this to say that the issue is not affecting the 2018 Springfields?
     
  15. geewago

    geewago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Location:
    waco,tx
    They are also a trick to install. the wires are about the size of sewing thread. If you're not extremely careful you'll break a wire just putting it in.
     
  16. Baldhead_J

    Baldhead_J Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    13,570
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Redesigned for '18
     
  17. WileECoyote

    WileECoyote Well-Known Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Pipersville, PA
    Will the new design fit 2017 and older bikes?
     
  18. Baldhead_J

    Baldhead_J Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    13,570
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    No
     

Share This Page