Chassis Fault Light?

Discussion in 'Indian Motorcycle Tech Questions & Answers' started by daisyfield, Feb 20, 2017.

  1. daisyfield

    daisyfield Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have had the chassis fault light going on and off on my Springfield. It seems like it may be a loose connection, but I've checked all the connections to the battery, and nothing is jumping out at me. Typically, it'll go on and then off right away, staying on for less that a minute. The performance does not seem to be affected, and I haven't done anything silly like disconnect the turn signals. :p Anybody else experience this or have other ideas on where to look?
     
    #1 daisyfield, Feb 20, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
  2. Baldhead_J

    Baldhead_J Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    6,240
    Likes Received:
    14,311
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    What's a chassis fault light?
     
    thumper likes this.
  3. daisyfield

    daisyfield Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    It's the triangle with the exclamation point. I think that it indicates an electrical issue, but bow to the greater expertise of the Forum.
     
    #3 daisyfield, Feb 20, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
  4. thumper

    thumper Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,513
    Likes Received:
    14,013
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Location:
    A half mile from Hell.
    Cycle through all the options with your left button on the front side of the switch housing. When you get to the end it should give you a fault code. Normally a P followed by some numbers.
     
    daisyfield and car54 like this.
  5. daisyfield

    daisyfield Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks Thumper, I did check that yesterday when I got home and didn't see a code. Is there a trick? The check engine light has not come on at any point, just the Chassis Fault. I haven't tried to toggle to the CK ENG screen when the light was on, so I can try to catch that. I checked the manual today, and it says to go to the CK ENG screen and hold the toggle button before shut down. I'll toggle to the CK ENG screen tonight when I get home before I shut down.

    I appreciate your reply. :)
     
    #5 daisyfield, Feb 20, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
  6. daisyfield

    daisyfield Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Okay, home from work, and no Ck Eng code. :( On the bright side though, the Chassis Fault indicator didn't go on either. It's been flickering on and off the last 4 or 5 times I've ridden. Maybe all I needed to do was ask the question. :rolleyes:

    If anyone else has had this happen, I'm interested in your experience. :D

    Thanks!
     
    thumper likes this.
  7. ndncowboy

    ndncowboy Bronze Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    3,164
    Trophy Points:
    1,193
    Location:
    Between Wichita Falls and Fort Worth Texas
    That's exactly how it works for me. I end up having to wait for complete failure 500 miles from home.:rolleyes:
     
    daisyfield likes this.
  8. daisyfield

    daisyfield Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I got a code today. O 520 323 the good news is I was on my way to the dealer for the recall, so hopefully it's a warranty thing. I'm getting the 500 mile service as well, so I'm hoping they'll figure it out. I'll post up the solution if I get one.
     
    #8 daisyfield, Feb 21, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2017
    Alpal and thumper like this.
  9. thumper

    thumper Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,513
    Likes Received:
    14,013
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    Location:
    A half mile from Hell.
    Hope it is something minor.
     
    daisyfield likes this.
  10. daisyfield

    daisyfield Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    And the answer is: rear brake light switch. Also cruise control isn't working. It makes sense though, because the Cruise is tied to the brakes. Hopefully, replacing the switch fixes both issues.
     
    #10 daisyfield, Feb 21, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2017
    IROQUOIS and sidecarsam like this.
  11. miaponte

    miaponte New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same issues, on my Chief classic, and then goes away
     

Share This Page