Auto Dim on Ride Commander

Discussion in 'Indian RoadMaster' started by Glsorrell, Apr 27, 2020.

  1. Glsorrell

    Glsorrell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Caryville, TN
    Just bought my 1st Indian, a 2020 Roadmaster Dark Horse 2 weeks ago. Love the bike but 3 times now in middle of trip if I shut down the bike for a few minutes (getting gas), when I fire her back up, my screen, on auto, is so dim I can’t see it. All 3 times it started on auto and stayed on auto, just dimmed significantly after getting gas or a brief stop. I let it go for about 10-15 minutes to see if it will adjust back, as it’s middle of the day, but it doesn’t. Is this a common issue and is there a fix?

    Thanks, G
     
  2. Baldhead_J

    Baldhead_J Gold Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    9,615
    Likes Received:
    21,443
    Trophy Points:
    8,193
    I haven't had this problem.
     
  3. IndySF

    IndySF Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2020
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    192
    Trophy Points:
    33
    On my 2019, I just use the drop down display settings, don't use auto and just set it to my liking. Most times auto is way off on mine, either too dim, or too bright.
     
    JayFL459 and Klyde1 like this.
  4. Bipestuff

    Bipestuff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo, MN
    I have a 2018 RM and haven't had any issues with the auto setting.
     
  5. Klyde1

    Klyde1 Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    3,376
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Location:
    U.P. of Michigan.
    I guess I didn't know they had auto dim (maybe the '17 RM doesn't have it). I've never had any issues.
     
  6. Spiritrider

    Spiritrider New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Mine will do the same thing. It either works or it doesn't in auto dim. At times even when I uncheck auto it will stay in nighttime mode (dim).
     
  7. RoadmasterD

    RoadmasterD Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Wadsworth OH
    Yes, it has it. I had an issue after an update when I was riding home after dark it wouldn't dim and was full bright, very distracting. I think I turned the auto off, but not sure now.
     
    Klyde1 likes this.
  8. JayFL459

    JayFL459 Silver Member
    Original 111

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    9,203
    Trophy Points:
    3,193
    Location:
    Lake City, FL
    Just another so called improvement that ends up being a problem ..
     
    IROQUOIS, thumper and Klyde1 like this.
  9. Klyde1

    Klyde1 Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    3,376
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Location:
    U.P. of Michigan.
    Next time I get a chance to ride at night, I'll definitely note it. I won't be riding until at least spring, now.
     

Share This Page